It is no surprise that speeding can lead to serious and devasting injuries for the driver involved in speeding and for other motorists, passengers, and pedestrians. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2020, speeding killed 11,258 people, or an average of 30 people a day. Some of the risks that result from driving a vehicle at a high rate of speed include losing control of the vehicle, the increased degree of crash severity and severe injuries, and increased economic damages. Speeding is considered a form of aggressive driving. The high rate of speeding-related accidents may be attributed to multiple factors, including road rage, alcohol-impaired driving, running late, and traffic congestion.
A recent news report revealed that there was a multi-vehicle crash in Elkton, Maryland. A Hyundai was traveling east at a high rate of speed when it struck the passenger side of a Honda Civic as the driver attempted to make a left turn. The driver of the Hyundai and the driver and passenger of the Honda were all declared deceased at the scene. The highway was closed for six hours following the crash.
What Are the Maryland Driving Laws and Statute of Limitations?
In the state of Maryland, drivers are required to abide by the maximum speed limit and also always drive at a safe speed, which is required by the basic speeding law. A driver is in violation of Maryland’s maximum or absolute speed laws if they drive over the absolute speed limit. For example, if the absolute speed limit on a particular road is set at 40 mph and a driver exceeds that limit, they are in violation of law. Additionally, in Maryland, motorists must always drive at a safe speed under the circumstances. When these laws in Maryland are violated, it can put other motorists and pedestrians, and the speeding driver, at risk. If you are injured as a result of another driver’s speeding, you may be considering bringing a lawsuit to recover damages
for any injuries you suffered as a result. In Maryland, for personal injury suits, there is a statute of limitations of 3 years, or in other words, a plaintiff will have a three-year deadline by which they must file their claims, with the time period starting at the date of the car accident.