How Maryland Car Insurance Laws Can Help Accident Victims

Knowing the ins and outs of Maryland’s car insurance laws can help you stay financially protected should you become the victim of an accident.

For example, despite Maryland laws requiring drivers to carry car insurance, a recent report showed that about 14 percent of drivers in the state are still uninsured. The unfortunate person who is injured in a motor vehicle accident by an uninsured driver may still be financially protected, however, if she has purchased the right kind of insurance.

Like in most states, Maryland drivers must carry basic liability insurance to help cover the cost of injuries and damage to other people and their belongings in connection with an accident.

Currently, the state requires drivers to carry $15,000 per accident in property damage liability, $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person, and $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident. These bare minimums, of course, do not always cover the actual costs of an accident. This is especially true as the number of passengers and cars involved in an accident increases. Boosting one’s coverage limits can help shield drivers from out-of-pocket costs.

Moreover, basic liability coverage does not cover the cost of the policy holder’s own injuries or damaged property if she is at fault for the accident. For this reason, Maryland drivers sometimes add collision and medical coverage policies to their auto insurance. These supplemental coverage options can protect at-fault drivers from financial ruin.

Drivers can also add medical payments coverage to their policy, which goes toward covering the driver and her passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which protects drivers financially when they get into an accident with an at-fault driver who lacks sufficient insurance.

Finally, some motorists also opt to add comprehensive insurance to their policies. Comprehensive insurance covers damage to a car that occurs when it is not being driven.

Another consideration is Maryland’s status as an at-fault or tort state. A tort state is a state in which at-fault drivers are liable for the other driver and passengers’ medical expenses. This distinction is why basic liability coverage does not cover the cost of a driver’s own injuries when she is at fault in an accident.

Clearly, determining fault is an important component of the aftermath of a motor vehicle accident. For this reason, after an accident, it is prudent to consult a trusted attorney before providing any statements to another motorist’s insurance company.

Speak to a Maryland Attorney Today

If you or a loved one has been involved in a recent motor vehicle accident in Maryland, do not take the financial risk of handling the matter on your own. The cost of medical care and car insurance is increasing, and it is important to clarify with the insurance companies that you are not at fault to avoid these costs. The legal team at Lebowitz & Mzhen has the experience needed to help you navigate the insurance process and other potential legal issues following an accident. Call us at 800-654-1949 to consult a lawyer about your case today.

Contact Information